Parts of Medicare

There are four plans known as parts of Medicare. 

Two of them are what we call “Original Medicare,” and two are insurance plans.

Play Video

Medicare Part A

Part A provides Medicare beneficiaries with inpatient care coverage.

It covers: 

  • Inpatient care in a hospital — Care you receive after being admitted to the hospital as an inpatient. The things Medicare covers include semi-private rooms, meals, general nursing, drugs as part of your inpatient treatment, and other hospital services and supplies. 
  • Skilled nursing facility care — Nursing and therapy care performed by, or under the supervision of professionals or technical personnel.
  • Hospice care
  • Home health care

Medicare Part B

Part B provides medical insurance. 

It covers: 

  • Medically required services or supplies used to diagnose or treat medical conditions
  • Preventive services: Health care used to deter an illness or detect it at an early stage

Medicare Part C

You might hear Medicare Advantage referred to as Medicare Part C.

Medicare Advantage is an insurance plan offered by private companies that provide all your Part A (hospital insurance) and Part B (medical insurance) benefits by being contracted with Medicare. Also, it offers extra benefits Original Medicare does not.

Each plan has an out-of-pocket max (something Original Medicare doesn’t have) and may provide: 

  • Adult day-care services
  • Transportation to doctor visits
  • Wellness programs
  • Dental
  • Hearing
  • Vision
  • Fitness memberships
  • Nutrition programs
  • Over-the-counter medications coverage
  • Services and supports for those with chronic conditions

The benefits offered will depend on where you live.

Get Your Free Medicare Quote

Have more questions?

Medicare Part D

Part D is a Medicare insurance plan that helps pay for your prescription medications.

There are two ways to get Medicare Part D: 

  • As a standalone plan
  • Part of your Medicare Advantage plan